Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join ASPB
Site Search
Membership - Ambassadors
Share |

About the Ambassador Program: This program is designed by the Membership Committee to outreach ASPB's mission and membership to the postdoc, graduate and undergraduate student community. One purpose is to educate these students about the importance of belonging to a professional society to enhance their career and be part of continuing the efforts of plant biology research. The other purpose is to expand ASPB's membership base to our younger constituents to ensure continued growth of the community. Another important role of the Ambassadors is act as a link between the Governance of ASPB and the membership community.  The ambassadors will be given a 'buzz' kit which will help them spread the word about ASPB to their peers. In 2011, we instituted Industry Ambassadors as two post doc ambassadors graduated and moved into industry positions, which coordinated with an increased effort by ASPB to recruit industry members and learn how ASPB could serve industry members. 

The jump start for the ASPB Ambassador program was at the 2006 annual meeting in Boston with special events and activities for our Ambassadors. Each annual meeting continues those activities and initiates new Ambassadors. Meet your current ASPB Ambassadors below. For more information on our program or if you are interested in being an Ambassador, fill out an online application for consideration.

Current ASPB Ambassadors - Select a name to visit their profile

David Horvath - Membership Committee Chair

Post Doc Ambassadors

Joohyun Lee - blog, University of Wisconsin
Christos Noutsos - blog, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Munevver Dogramaci - USDA-ARS Fargo
Young Koung Lee - Cold Spring Harbor Lab
Prateek Tripathi - University of Southern California
Sambasivam Periyannan - CSIRO Plant Industry, Canberra, Australia
Carl Fellbaum, South Dakota State University, Brookings, South Dakota


Industry Ambassadors 

Rebecca Arundale - blog, University of Illinois
Yao Luo, Monsanto

Graduate Student Ambassadors

Nathan Follen - Fresno State University
Sandra Smieszek - Royal Holloway (United Kingdom)
Craig Schenck- University of Wisconsin-Madison
Maria Hindt - Dartmouth College
Aswad Sunil Khadilkar- University of North Texas
Liz Bauer - Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
William Serson - University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY
Noel Lennon Piatek - University of Illinois, Urbanna-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois
Lingxiao Ge - Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, Ohio
Narender Kumar, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA
Ravendra Chauhan, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
Dan Browne, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas


Hot News

15501 Monona Drive
Rockville, MD 20855-2768 USA
Phone: 301-251-0560
Fax: 301-279-2996